Dear Quentin Tarantino,

August 29, 2009 at 5:40 am (Daily Headaches and Rage Inducers, Entertainers / Entertainment) (, , , , , , , , )

Hey Q.T.,

Just saw Inglourious Basterds last night and I have to say, it’s not your strongest work.  First off, you tottally misspelled “Inglorious” with that extra U.  But beyond that I was truly disappointed, as a serious filmmaker myself, with your devil-may-care attitude toward keeping your historacal facts straight about World War Two.

Firstly, what in the world is a “Bear-Jew?”  Based on what I’ve watched on the History Chanell, or read in Maxim, I know there were bears throughout Europe in the 1930s and 40s, and of course there were also Jews.  But to the best of my knowledge, there has never been a sighting of a so-called “Bear-Jew.”  I know that former Presidant George Bush said he was, quote, “opposed to human-animal hybrids,” but until now I always thought he was just stupid.

Your film also detailed Adolf Hitler’s demise a little bit differently then what I believe history has told us to be true.  It is my understanding, based on a televised special on Discovery, that Frau Hitler’s end came after the war was almost over; or at least the part with the Germany.

Look, you make films that are meant to be both humorus and intelligent, I accept that.  But I believe its critical that we make films which don’t lower themselves for the average audience member.  When I made Transformers 2, I felt a deep responsibilty to raise people’s awareness of things like robots in disguise.

Needless to say, I think your a terrific writer of dialogue and you do action scenes pretty good too.  Keep swinging for the fences, Q.T.  You’ll get there.

Sincerely,

.

Michael Bay,  director of “Pearl Harbor

6 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    “Why does Michael Bay get to keep on making movies?”

  2. Eilish said,

    He misspelled ‘bastards’ too.

    • jdrourke said,

      True, true. If you haven’t already seen it (Inglourious Basterds, that is), check it out. It’s a lot of fun!

  3. Son said,

    Poor grammar too?

    “Your film also detailed Adolf Hitler’s demise a little bit differently then what I believe history has told us to be true.”

    Correct: THAN??????

    Ouch!!

  4. Arly said,

    Your writing has me in tears! Lovely writing style with randomly misspelled words. You’re cracking me up!

    • jdrourke said,

      Thanks, Arly! What a cool comment.

Leave a Reply

