MEMO to Paul Ryan:

August 14, 2012 at 5:44 pm (Politics, Religion and other silliness) (, , , , , , , , , , )

MEMO

Attn: Congressman Ryan & Tea Party members in general

Ayn here, asking you to do me a simple favor and kindly re-read my novels (or, for you bandwagoning Tea-Baggers who look like breathing, walking descriptions of secondary Steinbeck characters, please read The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged for the first time). That, or go ahead and distance yourselves from my literature altogether.  I ask this of you people, because you seem to be missing the point of my work and who I was as a writer and, perhaps more importantly, as an individual.

When I watch your Tea Party rallies and see you, Rep. Ryan, up there on stage shouting down the President in unison, well, that kind of conflicts with my fervent stance against collectivism.  If you actually paid attention to my writings, you would also see how much I despised racism; yet another ugliness that creates collectivism within certain types of small minds.

My writings were pro-individualism; as in an individual’s right to choose to have an abortion, as opposed to the state or federal government deeming that both immoral and illegal.  This particular volatile subject alone is enough for me to prefer you and your ilk seek out a different author and incorrectly attach yourself to his or her writing.  Perhaps you would all be more comfortable carrying around the works of George Orwell or Dr. Seuss.

So please, as you prepare to hold more rallies and stand side-by-side in unified strength denouncing those who differ from you, try to remember that “cherry-picking” certain sentences, paragraphs, and chapters from my novels doesn’t make you an authority on me or my literary stances as a whole.  In fact, I would greatly prefer you simply take those “selective skills” and apply them to other great works of fiction, instead.  Say, the Holy Bible.

Read em and weep,

.

Ayn Rand, author (non-bagger)

3 Comments

  1. bliss_infinite said,

    I read The Fountainhead when I was in my mid-late twenties. I never got any of this right-wing stuff out of it. What I got out of it was never let barriers stop you from achieving the things that you want to achieve and never listen to people that say your stuff sucks. Then again maybe I ‘cherry-picked’ certain sentences, paragraphs and chapters so I’m no authority.

  2. ladyblug said,

    You have a way of saying what I’m thinking. I wish I was articulate.

  3. logi said,

    i did not read atlas shrugged but the fountainhead – i never understood why some people think authors and their works are identical – that would be rather strange in robert a heinlein’s case – he needed to be a shizi to fullfill that idea.

Leave a Reply

